2019 Flock Competition

2018 winning large flock owned by Martin Yeates of Swyre

Entries for our annual flock competition  are now open and judging will take place week commencing 24th June 2019.  Our judges this year are Tanya Taylor from Crewkerne and Jonathan Barnard from Crediton.  Entry to the competition is free and is an opportunity for farmers to be rewarded for their shepherding skills and flock management.  There are three awards given:

  • The Melplash Agricultural Society Perpetual Plaque for the best flock of 15 -50 Ewes
  • The JRB Bowditch Perpetual Cup for the best flock of 51-300 Ewes
  • The Newall Perpetual Cup for the best flock of 301 and over

The above cups will presented to the winners at the Melplash Show on Thursday 22nd August 2019.  Please click here to download an entry form.