2019 Hedgelaying Results

The Melplash Agricultural Society’s annual Hedgelaying Match took place along Camesworth Lane in Melplash, by kind permission or Mr John Warren, where there was some brilliant and consistent hazel hedges for all the 40 competitors to lay over the allocated 5 1/2 hrs.  With stiff competition coming from as far afield as the Isle of Wight, Warminster, Gloucestershire, Devon and of course Dorset, it was a tough  job for the judges to select winners and runners up from each of the 7 classes, along with the award for overall champion of the day.

The Melplash Agricultural Society’s Hedgelaying Chairman, Russell Woodham, thanked all the cutters for braving the conditions and gave special thanks to the judges Mr Roger Parris & Mr Twrry Copp from Devon, Mr Peter Yeates from Swyre, and Mr Gary Moore from West Sussex – for giving up their time and for travelling to attend the event, as well as to Mr Tim Frampton, the Ploughing Chairman, Mr Kevin Goodfellow and Mr Nigel Dowding, the Chainsaw Stewards.

Champion Hedgelayer, Jon Sibthorpe

“It was great to see new faces entering the competitions and in particular, it was very pleasing to see the younger generation taking part, they will hopefully take over the maintenance of hedges in future years!” said Society’s Hedgelaying Chairman, Mr Russell Woodham.

The prizes were presented by the Society’s  2019 President, Mr Tim Frost.

The Results for 2019 are as follows:


1st Mark Pugh

2nd David Clark

3rd Graham Adams

Novice Pairs

1st Toby & Lilly Mae Cross

2nd Steven & Rosie McCullouch

3rd Lucie Owen & Sally Tucker


1st Rob Wood

2nd Alex Clayson

Winner of Ladies class, Mandy Woodham pictured with Society President Tim Frost.


1st Mandy Woodham

2nd Lydia Lee

3rd Catherine Carter


1st Jon Sibthorp

2nd Martin Vickery

3rd Steve Eldridge

Open Pairs

1st Simon Cullingford & Stuart Curtis

2nd Heath & Lynda Cregan

3rd Richard & Katie Clayson


1st Richard Hooker

2nd Colin Risdon

3rd Terry Coombe

Young Farmer Class

1st Toby & Lilly Mae Cross (Isle of Wight YFC)

2nd Owen Swatridge & Sam Mather (Beaminster YFC)

Special Prizes

Winners of Tidiest Kept site – Owen Swatridge & Sam Mather of Beaminster YFC

Tidiest Site – Owen Swatridge & Sam Mather

Cleanest Cut – Richard Hooker

Best Hand Tool Competitor – Rob Wood

Overall Winner and Champion Hedger: Jon Sibthorp