Live Lamb Competition – 2018 results


Continental Breeds Champion Mr Clive Peach

The live lamb competition sponsored by S J Norman & Sons is held annually on the Melplash Show ground on the Tuesday before Show Day and marks the start of the annual show.  Sheep farmers in the area bring along a matching pair of lambs to be judged.  After judging they are taken to the local slaughter house (S J Norman & Sons, Bradpole) where they are killed ready for the lamb carcass judging competition at the Show on Thursday.    It is always interesting to see whether the same lambs that win the live lamb competition are the same winners in the lamb carcass competition on Show day.

This year there were a total of 50 pairs of lambs.  They are classified by weight – under 75kg(light) and over 75kg (heavy)and by breed – continental sired or native sired.

The judge for the evening was Mr Stuart Clatworthy, a farmer and butcher from East Huntspill, Highbridge on the Somerset Levels.  A long-standing family farm that produce lambs and beef cattle.  When asked what he was looking for he said: “A good pair of lambs, with good legs and good conformation..” adding that it was an impressive lot of entries and not an easy task to judge.

Native Breeds Champion Mr James Bailie

The Society President, Mr Richard King, gave out the prizes and thanked everyone for entering the competition.  He also thanked the Section Chairman,  Mr Ian Andrews and his helpers,  and gave special thanks to the judge, Mr Stuart Clatworthy.

The evening finished with a delicious lamb dinner on the show field, hosted by Mr John Norman.



Light (under 75kg)

1st Mr  T Marsh

2nd Mrs Susan Harris

3rd Mr S E Wrixon

4th Mrs Susan Harris

Heavy (over 75kg)

1st Mr Clive Peach

2nd Mr & Mrs D Churchill

3rd Mr Richard Gillard

4th Mr & Mrs D Churchill

Champion Mr Clive Peach


Light (under 75kg)

1st Mr Matthew Bagwell

2nd Mrs Jenny Rearden

3rd Maydown Farm

4th C G Newman Ltd

Heavy (over 75kg)

1st Mr James Baillie

2nd Mr R Bowditch

3rd Mr T Marsh

4th Mr Read

The Champion was Mr James Bailie